ESA (Voucher) Vote Tomorrow!

Arizona’s public district school children (all one million plus), need your help! Both chambers of the AZ Legislature are scheduled to vote on the full expansion of Empowerment Scholarship Accounts (ESAs) tomorrow and district school advocates aren’t sure we have enough votes to kill the bills (SB1431 and HB2394.)

Please act now to help! Here’s information on how from the Arizona School Boards Association:

This is It! ESAs Going to a Vote

SB1431 and HB294 empowerment scholarship accounts; phase in
 The ESA expansion bills are going to a vote tomorrow. ESAs may have the one vote they need to pass the Senate but we still have a chance to stop them in the House. If we can help the House hold strong, it will be a victory for education advocates. Below are our friends and potential supporters who should know their constituents are watching! Take a moment to call and/or email and let them know:

  • Arizona cannot afford universal ESAs
  • ESAs are not a savings and will take general fund dollars away from all other state priorities, not just education.
  • No amendments will make universal ESAs an acceptable use of public funds. Tax dollars are still diverted for private use
  • ASBA considers this a fundamental indication of which members truly support public education

Thank/Stay Strong/Continue Support

LD 15 Rep. Heather Carter hcarter@azleg.gov 602-926-5503

LD10 Rep. Todd Clodfelter tclodfelter@azleg.gov 602-926-4850

LD 5 Rep. Regina Cobb rcobb@azleg.gov 602-926-3126

LD 16 Rep. Doug Coleman dcoleman@azleg.gov 602-926-3160

LD14 Rep. Drew John djohn@azleg.gov 602-926-5154

LD25 Rep. Michelle Udall mudall@azleg.gov 602-926-4856

LD28 Sen. Kate Brophy-McGee kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov 602-926-4486

Potenial No Votes

LD13 Rep. Darrin Mitchell dmitchell@azleg.gov 602-926-5894

LD28 Rep. Maria Syms msyms@azleg.gov 602-926-4840

LD8 Rep. David Cook dcook@azleg.gov 602-926-5162

ASBA *can* help stop ESAs. These members need to know that they will be supported for doing the right thing! Call and/or email now!